From the Bookshelf. “French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

French Women Don't Get Fat

Call me a Francophile,but there is something about France, Parisian chic and French ‘joie de vivre’ that I find fascinating. The attitude towards celebrating little pleasures, living well and being naturally beautiful speak volumes to me. It is no wonder that books related to the subject usually catch my attention and often make an addition to my home library.

This time it was “French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano that I purchased in search of inspiration on how to bring some “frenchness” into my kitchen. I was not disappointed – apart from some recipes there is a lot about beauty, life stages, useful tips and tricks to make one look more youthful and feel better. The reading was so interesting that I decided to order two remaining titles by the same author.

The main thing that I remembered is that staying fit and looking well is a lifelong process that requires good deal of discipline and making little efforts every day, but without neglecting pleasures and joys that life has to offer.
So yes, if a chocolate desert – only the best quality and only on occasions when one can fully enjoy this decadent treat.
So by all means, a long lunch with champagne – but only if balanced by a walk back home and an otherwise light dinner.
And no – no to bad quality, no to excess, no to absentmindedness and no to thinking that there is no beauty after certain age.

