Cheap and Chic?

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

Cheap & Chic

Some say there is only one way to call cheap and it is… cheap. Can cheap be chic without being only cheap or is this an urban myth we were made to believe by likes of H&M, Zara and Gap? 

This time I decided to find out myself and for my summer wardrobe selected some very affordable pieces from H&M and TK Maxx (multibrand store offering discounted pieces from high street). I bought several tops, a pair of shorts and a pair of chinos, all in neutral colors and classic cut, typical hardworking essentials for an everyday summer wardrobe. Most pieces that I chose are composed of 95/97% cotton and 3/5% elastane, with one in 100% linen and one consisting of more complex bland of 67% acrylic, 21% modal and 12% wool. This season I intend to use them often and report on their behavior at the end of September.

I admit to having several reservations towards budget buys. Based on my previous experiences cheap pieces proved to be short lived and not worth the money, even if a price tag was very tempting and in a shop they seemed to be of a decent quality. With cheap garments I had been through thorn seams, ripped seams (on a very first day!), lost buttons (up to the point of resewing them all by hand to make them look more neat – yet this is also true for more expensive brands), deformations after the first wash (and I usually opt for wool program, protective net and delicate washing liquid) and, probably the greatest surprise, discovering that pure wool undergarments smelled of chemicals after their first wash. Needless to say, most cheap purchases were not successful and ended up in a trash, so I am really curious what will happen this season, good or bad, I will share all in September.

