From the Bookshelf. “Lessons from Madame Chic. 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris.” by Jennifer L. Scott.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

Lessons from Madame Chic

Since “Paris is always a good idea” and being Parisian is a fantasy that many women secretly harbor, there are more and more publications that try to translate the Parisian phenomenon to those who were not so fortunate to be born by Seine river. I admit to entertain a thought of introducing some French chic into my daily life and the book that inspired me greatly was “Lessons from Madame Chic. 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris.” by Jennifer L. Scott.

Jennifer, an American student, moves to Paris for an exchange year and in the process learns a lot and starts to see her life from a different perspective, with all this happening under the influence of an inspirational role model, mysterious Madame Chic. Perhaps the plot sounds trivial, but I assure you that it makes a great reading and provokes some reflections on the quality of daily life and the importance of celebrating your everydayness. Each chapter refers to a lesson that Jennifer learned from her host, understanding how much the life she knows differs from the life she observes, feeling that there is much to improve. There is a lot about fashion, decor, food, culture, personal development, staying fit and…even more.

After the lecture I felt very inspired and made some observations on how could I improve the quality of my life to make it more focused on the simplicity, on the ability to celebrate every day – in other words, on how to make it more chic in the sense of the Parisian joie de vivre. I recommended the book to my good friend who absolutely loved it, so with the same eagerness I can recommend it to you.

PS. If you feel tempted to buy the second book,  “At Home with Madame Chic. Becoming a Connoisseur of Daily Life.”, my suggestion is don’t. I was very disappointed with trivial advices and ideas impossible for people with full time work (not everyone is a freelancer and a home stayed mum). As much as I enjoyed the first book, the sequel didn’t live up to expectations and in my mind has little to do with a concept of Parisian chic.

