Barcelona Travel Diary.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

Barcelona Travel Diary_5

It is easy to fall for Barcelona, as the city is simply wonderful – charming, friendly, well organized and full of stunning sights. This was my first stay and I have an impression there are more to come in the future. I did not know what to expect from Barcelona and I tried to keep an open mind. I was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere, safety, cleanliness and general vibe… so yes, I will come back for sure. 

Barcelona Travel Diary_4Barcelona Travel Diary_7Barcelona Travel Diary_3Barcelona Travel Diary_8Barcelona Travel Diary_6Barcelona Travel Diary_2Barcelona Travel Diary_9

We stayed at the Eixample district, which is within walking distance from most key POIs in Barcelona. Walking is what we like and what we did, many kilometers during the whole stay! It was a real pleasure to explore the place on foot, discovering new streets, marveling on architecture, snapping pictures, taking occasional stops for coffee or wine, enjoying local food depending on mood and hour… Most visits requiring tickets I booked beforehand (La Pedrera, Park Guell, La Sagrada Familia), time of the visit is set, so there is less freedom and schedule is more rigid, but so much hassle is avoided and for that reason I do recommend to book in advance wherever possible. I do not show some pictures here, like the interior of La Sagrada Familia, the reason is simple, I do not want to spoil it for anybody who may have a chance to see it in person, the place is so overwhelmingly beautiful and so special that the best impression is gained first-hand. Before departure for Spain I heard words of warning about pick pockets, nothing happened to us and all valuables came home safely, but we were cautious, so perhaps this is the way to go.

Barcelona Travel Diary_1

During our stay we managed to see more than Barcelona, thanks to my husband and his extraordinary driving skills we made an amazing tour around Costa Dorado’s charming little towns, but more on it in the next blog post.

