Not in Vogue.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

Not in Vogue

I am not in Vogue and frankly speaking, that makes me proud. After years of glossy magazine brain washing, I decided to put an end to it. I am done with Vogue. I avoid Bazaar. I say no to any fashion magazine that has more adverts that meaningful content, UK and US glossies being my primary suspects. I am no longer in the mood for their bubble on trivial subject, not so discreet product placements and attitude towards promoting extensive spendings. Did it ever occur to you why so few pieces from fashion editorials are available to an average woman or why they try to make you think that not having at least one Chanel 2.55 is a major crime? I do not get it.

And it is not like I live in some state of a blissful fashion ignorance, I just try to select my readings with more consideration and awareness. Danish and Swedish fashion magazines are my main inspiration, among my very best I list Styleby, Elle Danmark and Cover. I still enjoy Porter, hoping it won’t turn into yet another Vogue. For more meaningful reading – Monocole and Kinfolk, for purely visual inspiration – Vogue Paris and Vogue Japan.

I think the same process affects many of super popular fashion blogs. Without mentioning any, I still try to figure out how is it possible for those twenty something girls to lead lives revolving around exotic travels, five star hotels, luxurious handbags, fashion shows, photo shoots, limos… and no, not every one is married to a Russian millionaire or is a successful entrepreneur in her own right. One comparison comes to mind – Bollywood, an imaginary world that is as real as a jar filled with gold waiting at the end of the rainbow. Those prominent it-girls are just marketing tools whose main function is to make other not so fortunate girls think that spending a small fortune on La Mer cream can bring them closer to the picture perfect Instagram happiness. Let’s get real, it is all a part of marketing & sales actions designed to make consumers unhappy about what is and create an artificial need that a purchase should fulfil, bringing satisfaction and a sense of achievement.

The more I think of it the more frustrated I get, because not every person can see through this manipulation, in all honesty – very few can and the younger the target, the more influence the message shall have. I do not say burn your Vogue and stop following elaborate fashion blogs, for you may like them just the way they are, they offer a good deal of inspiration after all, just try to be more critical and see them for what they really are, marketing tools, not pictures of real life.

