Byredo.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

Byredo 2

It is thanks to Instagram that I became aware of Byredo brand and their collection of bespoke perfumes. I became slightly obsessed and started a search for “my” Byredo perfume, which took me from department stores through London Underground, where I actually followed a lady smelling Byredo, to debating with myself whether I should be spending so much on a of bottle perfume. In the end I did and the day I started wearing Mohave Ghost was a day when my perfume fully complimented my image. In a way it felt complete – colours, fabrics, cut and scent.

Founded in 2006 by Ben Gorham, the brand became an extension of a creative project focusing on links between smell and memory. Name Byredo comes from “By Redolence” meaning a reminiscent of a person or particular place, a vivid memory of the past inspired by sensation related to smell. It is not uncommon to go back in time when a smell evokes places or situations, those moments do not happen very often, but when they do occur, a recollection of the event is surprisingly clear and precise.

Byredo started from five composition and as the concept developed and became a commercial success, more scents were included in the selection. After perfumes, body care products and candles followed. Brand originates in Sweden, but not surprisingly all perfumes are made in France. So far the one and only flagship store is in Stockholm, otherwise Byredo perfumes are available in major department stores all over the world. I look forward to my upcoming visit in Stockholm and while I am there, I will make sure to stop by Mäster Samuelsgatan 6 to embark on a fragrant voyage and bring home memories locked in a simple yet refined bottle.

Byredo

