It is not about a journey, it is about the destination, but…

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

It is not about the travel, but...

I am a traveller. My suitcase is in frequent use, my SAS app usually has registered reservations and I am always taking notes of where and what to see. I love “going places” and experiencing new things, but sometimes a thought of actually getting there is taking away my enthusiasm. There are some things that I cannot influence and need to accept the way there are, while other I can, so whatever the destination, I try to make every travel into a good experience, so getting from A to B is a beginning of an adventure, not a dreadful necessity. But how to make it happen and bring some first class experience into your travelling:

– Don’t leave preparations for the last minute when your boarding card pops on a phone screen, prepare in advance and avoid rush, stress does not enhance any experience, travelling included.

– Frequent traveller? why not make a list of your travel essentials to keep it for reference every time you pack your suitcase.

– When travelling by plane, I am all for having one extra hour for a peace of mind and unpredicted delays, best case you will not miss your flight, worse case you have a cup of coffee or indulge in airport shopping.

– Since I am no fan of aeroplane food, for short travels I always have in my hand luggage a bottle of still mineral water, a pocket size pack of nuts and nut-fruit bar like Eat Raw and Eat Natural or a small bar of dark chocolate, this way I know what I eat and won’t arrive with an upset stomach. For long distance, I usually opt for vegetarian version of in flight meal plus same snack as for shorter flight.

– In my carry on there is always enough space for Bose Quiet Comfort headphones, iPod, lightweight wool shawl that doubles as a blanket and a book or Kindle, with those I create my personal space that makes all travels much more comfortable. Big sunglasses, a moisturising mist and a lipstick plus a hand cream and wet wipes are favourites for long haul or travel by train.

– When purchasing beauty products, I always ask for samples that I use when travelling, being away from home I avoid any experiments when it comes to face care, my sensitive skin reacts even to water change and I had some unpleasant experiences when staying in major cities offering poor quality running water.

– The best beauty advice for a traveller that I heard was about packing a red lipstick and a hat, red lips will add elegance and character to an otherwise simple make up, while hat deals with¬†“holiday” hair.

– For a flight or train travel, I dress comfortably, but never sloppy. I usually wear flat leather loafers or white sneakers, classic blue jeans and a white cotton shirt. You may ask why make an effort, I ask why not make it? Personally I would rather drop dead than show up at the boarding call wearing Havaianas and sweatpants, guess you see my point.

To close, a final comment on demeanour. Nowadays travelling became available and lost most of it’s old glamour. It is so common, that some passengers leave their manners behind and forget that like in every other social situation, a certain decorum is expected at all altitudes. An image of a half conscious man, who obviously had too much to drink and was parading around departure hall at Schiphol airport with a cow bell on his neck will stay with me for years to come. Why not set a good example and inspire others with class and good manners, not only when arriving at destination, but from the moment you lock the door and set off?

