From the Bookshelf. “L’Art de la Simplicite. How to Live More With Less.” by Dominique Loreau.

by Cashmere Wrap & Macadamia Nuts

LArt de la Simplicite

I intended to read “L’Art de la Simplicite.” by Dominique Loreau to broaden my minimalist mindset and gain more insight into how to live more with less. I was also curious about the Japanese influence that the author is mentioning, having lived in Japan for many years and adopting Asian mindset into his thought.

The book is divided into three parts related to different spheres of existence, from materialistic, through physical closing with notes on spiritual life. The first part was very interesting, although did not surprise me with anything new, it was more of a repetition of what I already knew or read about before. It wasn’t boring though, because many subjects and suggestions were presented in a simple and straightforward way. The second part related to body was more of a challenge, as I did not agree with some suggestions. In addition, it seems that the author believes in “one size fits all” solution and is not afraid to say how many meals one should eat or how many beauty products to own. For me it is more of an individual choice and not wanting to fast regularly or eat my meals from a wooden bowl doesn’t mean I am not taking the minimalistic approach seriously enough. Finally, the last part related to mind made me very disappointed. I quickly lost interest to go through more chapters and put the unfinished book  down. It has been some weeks since I did that and I still feel no urge nor motivation to read its final pages.

Overall I was less than impressed, the book started well but after a while reading it became more and more tiresome, to the point of getting irritating. For me it turned out to be a self help book more than anything else and this type of literature is never my choice. Finally, it hardly ever happens that I do not finish my reading and with this in mind, I wouldn’t recommend the lecture.

